Some of my favorite books…..

Standard

Hi!   Every time a new stitch book comes ,  I love to pour over it and play.  I figured I would share some of my thoughts about some of my go-to books when I am planning a canvas.

Stitch Landscape from Little Shoppe Canvas Company is a favorite of mine.  If you like some of your canvas showing a little, then this is a must have book (or app for your iphone/ipad or itouch).  It is a great book with categories for clouds, flowers, grass, mountains, sand, shubbery, skies, snow, soil, stone, trees and water.  Each section has lots of great stitches, but don’t limit yourself by just sticking with one category for a stitch, lots of the stitches can work for things other than their designated category.   Instead of naming the stitches, they are numbered.  This makes it a little more challenging to find them if you are using the app.  I have both the app and the book, I like to take more projects in my bag when I go away, so I like stitch apps.

 

I took this book on vacation along with a Kathy Schenkel Lighthouse canvas and decided to play.  I am happy with the results, best of all, the whole piece only took a week – don’t have to stitch every hole!    I used Vineyard overdyed silk for the sky, but decided I liked the look of one of the grass stitches (grass #2)  for the sky.  I have used it many times since in canvases that I have written stitch guides for – it also works if you turn it vertically for a rainy look. 

 

 

The grass is done with Vineyard Silk and grass stitch #34 that is a long stitch with a X over it, quite an effective stitch, lots of texture. 

The clouds are my favorite I think.  Using a combination of Silk Lame Braid and Vineyard Silk gave them just a hint of sparkle.  This stitch (cloud #9) would also be great for a large area of snow. 

Trying to create the illusion of roundness on the lighthouse was a challenge – lots of ripping before settling in and finding a stitch that worked – lazy roman.  I hadn’t used that stitch before but found that since I had a large enough area, it works and feels like the lighthouse is rounded.

I was sad when my piece was finished, but lucky me – I have a companion lighthouse from Kathy Schenkel to go with it.  I am looking forward to playing again with different stitches on the next one. 

Until next time, happy stitching!

Kristine

About Baltimore Needleworks

After spending most of my life channeling my creativity into my own work, I decided it was time to share my creative passion and start Baltimore Needleworks. I was the artsy kid who was always drawing something. As a kid, I dreamed of doing something creative "when I grew up." Part of that dream was going to a design school, not the liberal arts college I found myself enrolled in, after all, I had to find a career that would pay the bills. I found a career, though certainly not what I had dreamed I would be doing "when I grew up." My mother taught me how to cross stitch as a teenager and I happily lived in that world until I found myself pregnant and on bed-rest. I wanted something I didn’t have to count and pay close attention to...and so the passion for needlepoint was born. The day before I was put to bed (not for very long), I went to my local needlepoint shop and fell in love with all the painted canvases. I quickly snapped up one and all the necessary supplies. I couldn't wait to get started, I still love the thrill of a new project, who doesn't. I had so much fun working on that first piece, little did I know that all of my continental stitches were going the wrong way. I kept needlepointing - teaching myself everything I could. I spent lots of time at my local needlepoint shop, listening, learning and becoming a master of stitches and techniques. I was thrilled when I was asked if I wanted a job. I was like a kid in a candy store. I got to do what I loved and I got paid, though I think every dollar I made went right back to the shop for canvases I had to have. Baltimore Needleworks is my when I grow up dream. I love needlepoint and the outlet it gives my creativity. Creating needlepoint heirlooms is something I love to do, be it for my own projects or by writing custom stitch guides for my customers canvases. Seeing a canvas come alive with fibers and stitches to create interest and texture with a variety of techniques is something that brings me joy every day. I hope to share some of this passion with you.....thanks for reading, Kristine

One response »

Leave a Reply

